Liberty Federal Credit Union Completes Its Name Change

EVANSVILLE, Indiana – Liberty Federal Credit Union has officially completed its name change from Evansville Teachers Federal Credit Union.

Nothing else will change for members, whose accounts, checks, and debit and credit cards will maintain the same numbers and will continue to be accepted. When a member’s card nears expiration, they will receive a new Liberty Federal Credit Union branded card.

Founded in 1936 to serve the financial needs of local educators, ETFCU consistently adjusted to meet the needs of its members. Starting in classroom settings at Central and then Bosse high schools, the credit union purchased a new headquarters on Theater Drive in 1979 as the first step toward becoming a full-service financial institution.

By the 1980s, the credit union was serving members with branch locations throughout southern Indiana, and now welcomes members from all walks of life, both within the Tri-State and across the region. Today, Liberty Federal Credit Union serves more than 275,000 members with 28 branch locations in Indiana, Kentucky, and Tennessee. In 2023, the credit union will open five additional branches, including one in Jasper, Indiana, and a new office to serve Evansville’s West Side.

The name change allows the credit union to better represent and be more inclusive of its diverse and widespread membership, while maintaining its roots – and support – of educators in and out of Evansville.